#HASH TAG RESEARCH#

16 Oct

Before this course, I didn’t really know much about #hash tags. I did not know how to use them neither did I know what they were for. To be blatantly honest, I only really began using hash tags when I signed up for Instagram (an app on the i-Phone) – and even then, i used them infrequently!

Instagram Hash Tag

Instagram Hash Tag #electricalsky

But as I continued through my Netmed course, I began to use the hash tag more frequently. I still wasn’t entirely sure if i was using them correctly, but I figured all I had to do was just add in a ‘#’ (hash tag) and write related words to my image. Regardless, I still wasn’t sure were the hash tags were going, or what they were doing. So, I decided to investigate.

And here is what I found along my way:

Hash tags enable people to find you based on what you’ve tagged, through a common topic. Put more simply, if you hash tag #electricalsky for example, and others hash tag #electricalsky too, then anyone can find you through that same hash tag #electricalsky.

Now, enough about #electricalsky. To further clarify hoe hash tags work, I went to the Twitter Help Centre to find out more, and this is what I found:

Using hashtags to categorize Tweets by keyword:

  • People use the hashtag symbol # before a relevant keyword or phrase (no spaces) in their Tweet to categorize those Tweets and help them show more easily in Twitter Search.
  • Clicking on a hashtagged word in any message shows you all other Tweets marked with that keyword..
  • Hashtags can occur anywhere in the Tweet – at the beginning, middle, or end.
  • Hashtagged words that become very popular are often Trending Topics.

Using hashtags correctly:

  • If you Tweet with a hashtag on a public account, anyone who does a search for that hashtag may find your Tweet
  • Don’t #spam #with #hashtags. Don’t over-tag a single Tweet. (Best practices recommend using no more than 2 hashtags per Tweet.)
  • Use hashtags only on Tweets relevant to the topic.
Leave a Reply

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

